Seite auswählen

BIO

English

“Chasing Traces” ist das Dokument einer Reise. Vor einem Jahr machte sich Alina Amuri auf den Weg, auf der Suche nach ihren Wurzeln, auf der Suche nach sich selbst. Gefunden hat sie neue Perspektiven und nicht zuletzt einen neuen Sound. Davon zeugt dieses Album. It’s a new day, it’s a new life for her – und eine Inspiration für alle, die ihr auf ihrem Weg folgen.

Man könnte es sich einfach machen: “Chasing Traces” ist ein modernes Soul-Album, mit zeitgenössischen Einflüssen und einer klassisch sozialisierten Ausnahmestimme. Alina Amuri aber wollte es sich nicht einfach machen. Sie wollte verstehen. Also ging die Schweizer Sängerin mit kongolesischen Wurzeln dorthin, wo die Wahrheit liegt. Sie ging nach innen. Zurück kam sie mit jener Klarheit, die aus einer talentierten Instinkt-Sängerin eine Künstlerin macht: eine selbstbewusste, selbstbestimmte Frau, die ihren Platz in dieser Welt gefunden hat.

Der Ausgangspunkt dieser Reise war eine tatsächliche. Gemeinsam mit einer Freundin, die ein Kinderhilfsprojekt in Afrika unterstützt, reiste Alina Amuri im vergangenen Jahr für mehrere Wochen mit einer Gruppe Nomaden durch die Wüste Ägyptens. Von der Hauptstadt Kairo aus zogen sie in Richtung Süden, tiefer und tiefer in unberührte Natur. Sie fand eine neue Art der Schönheit in diesem Nichts. Und sie fand die Ruhe, um über sich selbst und ihre Geschichte nachzudenken, ihr Leben zwischen Wurzeln, die sie kaum kennt, und einer Heimat, in der sie nie ganz zuhause sein konnte.

Im Alter von nur zwei Jahren kam Alina in die Schweiz. Dort wuchs sie in Zürich bei einer Pflegefamilie auf. “Ich war als Kind schon ein Wirbelwind,” erinnert sie sich. “Ich habe mich stundenlang ausgepowert, getanzt und gesungen.” Gedanken an eine Karriere hatte sie nicht. Anders als viele Kollegen stand sie nie mit dem Bürsten-Mikro vor dem Spiegel und träumte von der grossen Bühne. Aber die Musik half ihr schon damals, mit den Widersprüchen und Lücken ihrer Biografie umzugehen. Sie sang im Kinderchor des Opernhauses Zürich und spielte Querflöte. “In der Musik konnte ich mich ausdrücken. Sie war meine Ausdrucksform.” Daran hat sich bis heute nichts geändert.

Wenn man Alina Amuri im Alltag begegnet, wirkt sie eher ruhig. Sobald sie aber eine Booth oder Bühne betritt, ändert sich das mit einem Schlag. Sie geht auf in der Musik. Das Singen ist ihr Element. Gleichsam magisch formen sich in ihr Silben zu Melodien, findet sie Worte für die Themen, die sie, die uns alle beschäftigen – und seien sie noch so komplex. “Chasing Traces” ist alles andere als ein leichtes Album; es geht um Trennungen, um die Suche nach Identität und Freiheit, um neuen Mut. In Alinas Gesang aber klingt all das federleicht. Das ist ihre Superkraft: Das Schwierige einfach klingen zu lassen, das Persönliche universell, das Vielschichtige nach einer Hook, die man immer wieder mitsingen möchte.

“Chasing Traces” entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hamburger Produzententeam AmberYard sowie dem befreundeten Songwriter Walter Esposito, mit dem sich Alina in langen, intensiven Gesprächen austauschte. Gemeinsam schrieben sie den Grossteil des Albums. Alle Seiten betraten Neuland in dem Prozess, nicht nur wegen des regelmässigen Einsatzes von Skype, WhatsApp & Co. Alina öffnete sich neuen musikalischen Strömungen. AmberYard öffneten sich der Idee, ein ganzes – und noch dazu extrem persönliches – Album mit einer Künstlerin aufzunehmen, die sie davor nur von Spotify und YouTube sowie über gemeinsame Bekannte kannten. “We’ll replace fear of the unknown with curiosity and move our feet to another rhythm”, heisst es an einer Stelle auf dem Song “Pioneers”.

Die Zeile ist eher allgemein gemeint, aber sie taugt dennoch als Chiffre für diese Platte. Alina Amuri klingt moderner, vielschichtiger als noch auf ihrem Debüt “Be One With Me” (das sie 2015 zum “Best Talent” des SRF3 machte, sie zum Frauenfeld Open Air und auf eine Bühne mit u.a. Selah Sue und Jesse J führte). Die Einflüsse reichen weit über den R&B-Kanon hinaus: Cloud R&B, Reggae, Black Rock, sogar House. Aber ihre Stimme, diese unbestimmte Wärme in ihrem Ausdruck hält alles wie selbstverständlich zusammen. Da ist die Emotionalität von Nina Simone. Da ist die Tiefe von Mahalia Jackson. Da ist der Swagger des Hip-Hop, der ihr als Teenager einst Identifikation stiftete. Da ist die frische Energie von jungen Soul-Neudenkern wie Anderson .Paak.

Auch insofern ist “Chasing Traces” ein Reifeprozess, ein Akt der Reflektion. Wer bin ich? Wer will ich sein? Was will ich mit meinem Leben anstellen? Alina Amuri hat einmal gesagt, dass sie Musik in erster Linie für sich selbst macht. Das Besondere an ihrer Musik aber ist, dass jeder von ihr lernen kann. Wer bist du? Wer willst du sein? Was willst du mit deinem Leben anstellen? Das klärt “Chasing Traces” nicht, natürlich nicht. Aber wer Alina Amuri auf ihren Wegen folgt, wird einer Antwort mit Sicherheit näher kommen.

MUSIC

VIDEOS

NEWSLETTER

CONTACT

MANAGEMENT

Alessandra Manfredi
am@amanfredi.ch
www.amanfredi.ch

MANAGEMENT LIVE

Fränzi Rohrer-Gasser
fraenzi_gasser@bluewin.ch

BOOKING

Just Because
Samuel Galley

samuel@justbecause.ch
www.justbecause.ch

LABEL

Sony Music Entertainment Switzerland GmbH
Letzigraben 89
CH-8003 Zurich
+41 44 404 32 32
www.sonymusic.ch

Seite auswählen

BIO

German

Chasing Traces is the story of a journey. A year ago, Alina Amuri set off on a journey in search of her roots, in search of herself. What she found was new perspectives and not least a new sound. This album bears witness to this journey of discovery. It’s a new day, it’s a new life for her – and an inspiration for anyone who walks with her on this road.

She could have taken the easy route: Chasing Traces is a modern soul album with contemporary influences and an exceptional, classically trained voice. But Alina Amuri didn’t want to take the easy route. She wanted to understand. So the Swiss singer with Congolese roots decided to go to the place where truth resides. To do this, she looked inside. She returned with the kind of clarity that turns a talented, instinctive singer into a true artist: a self-confident, independent woman who has found her place in the world.

This journey inside began with a real journey. Together with a friend who supports a children’s aid project in Africa, Alina Amuri spent several weeks last year travelling through the Egyptian desert with a group of nomads. Starting their journey in the Egyptian capital, Cairo, they travelled south, moving deeper and deeper into unspoiled nature. Amuri found a new kind of beauty in these barren wilds. She also found the peace and quiet she needed to think about her life and her back-story, a life between roots that she barely knows and a country where she grew up but could never really feel at home.

Alina came to Switzerland at the tender age of two, where she grew up in a foster home in Zurich. ‚I was a whirlwind, even as a child,‘ she recalls. ‚I danced and sang for hours on end, really wearing myself out.‘ The thought of building a music career for herself never occurred to her. Unlike many of her colleagues, she never stood in front of her bedroom mirror, singing into a hairbrush. But even then, music helped her deal with the contradictions and gaps in her life story. She sang in the children’s choir at Opernhaus Zurich, the opera house in Switzerland’s largest city, and learned to play the flute. ‚I was able to express myself through music. It was my way of expressing myself.‘ In this respect, nothing has changed.

When you meet Alina Amuri offstage, she appears quite calm and collected. But as soon as she sets foot inside a recording booth or on stage, it’s as if she has flicked a switch: she becomes one with the music. She is truly in her element when she sings. As if by magic, syllables become melodies and she finds the right words for things that concern her – concern us all, in fact – no matter how complex they might be. Chasing Traces is anything but an easy album: it is about separations, the search for identity and freedom, and finding new courage. In Alina’s velvet tones, however, it all sounds so easy. That’s her super power: making the difficult sound easy, making the personal universal, making complex music sound like a simple hook you just want to keep on singing.

Chasing Traces is the result of the collaboration with the Hamburg-based team of producers AmberYard and songwriter Walter Esposito, a friend of Alina’s with whom she spent many hours in deep discussions. Together, they wrote most of the songs on the album. Everyone involved broke new ground and explored new avenues for this album: not only did they regularly communicate via Skype, WhatsApp etc., Alina explored new musical directions, and for the first time, AmberYard worked on an entire (extremely personal) album with a singer they had previously only seen and heard on Spotify and YouTube and knew about from joint friends. ‚We’ll replace fear of the unknown with curiosity and move our feet to another rhythm‘ is a line taken from the song ‚Pioneers‘.

Although this line is more general than specific, it is nevertheless the theme running through the entire album. Alina Amuri sounds more modern, more multifaceted than she did on her debut album Be One With Me (which saw her crowned ‚Best Talent‘ by SRF3 in 2015, perform at Frauenfeld Open Air, and share a stage with big names such as Selah Sue and Jessie J). Her influences go far beyond R&B and include Cloud R&B, Reggae, Black Rock, and even House. But it is her voice, that indefinable warmth in the way she sings, that holds it all together with ease. She has the emotion of Nina Simone, the depth of Mahalia Jackson, the swagger of hip-hop, with which she so identified as a teenager, and the fresh energy of young soul ground-breakers like Anderson .Paak.

In this way too, Chasing Traces is a maturing process, an act of reflection. Who am I? Who do I want to be? What do I want to do with my life? Alina Amuri once said that she primarily makes music for herself. What makes her music so special, however, is that everyone can learn from her. Who are you? Who do you want to be? What do you want to do with your life? It goes without saying that Chasing Traces doesn’t have the answers to these questions. But anyone who walks with Alina Amuri on this journey is sure to come closer to finding the answers they need.

MUSIC

VIDEOS

NEWSLETTER

CONTACT

CONTACT

BOOKING

Just Because
Samuel Galley

samuel@justbecause.ch
www.justbecause.ch

LABEL

Sony Music Entertainment Switzerland GmbH
Letzigraben 89
CH-8003 Zurich
+41 44 404 32 32
www.sonymusic.ch